Monday, October 28, 2013

Rachel's Typical Tuesday, and More

If you've been following along with Momster Mash during this month, you've had a chance to get to know Rachel and her family. 
 
Rachel keeps herself busy with work, family, teaching dance, volunteering with a weekly co-op, organizing the Buddy Walk, and more.  As mom's, we know it can be challenging to find time for ourselves, yet realize the importance of doing so.  In what ways does Rachel "recharge her battery"?
"I try to recharge my battery by getting more sleep.  I always seem to stay up late, doing things I can't do when the kids are up.  Taking baths, reading books, popping in headphones and jamming out, those all work too.  I love working out, but find it hard to find time now.  It's a goal to get back on the horse.  I always feel my best when I work out."
I also think it's important for us mommas to find time to do things that bring us joy outside of our families.  This to a certain extent, of course, but if my entire life is consumed by "being mom" I worry what life would look like when my children are grown and gone. But hey, maybe that's just me.  Finding ways to step aside for a moment, decompress and refresh myself, allows me to return to my hubby and little girl with a renewed energy.  Even if you're not a mom, I think it's important to find new ways to challenge ourselves and enjoy life.  What does Rachel enjoy doing apart from her role as wife and momma?
"I have found that I am an evolving, changing being.  I did my first triathlon this year, something I never thought I would or could do.  I have recently become interested in a vegetable garden, cooking and canning.  That, again, is something I never thought I 'd enjoy doing.  It makes me feel so proud.  And confirms that I can do hard things.  I've found that being by myself is nice, and it's ok to want "me time."  I've always been a social person, and I still am, but feel like I'm much more comfortable in my skin now." 
Rachel's Typical Tuesday:
  • Up and at 'em in the morning, get the kids fed and Jacoby on the bus by 8am. 
  • Depending on Eric's shift and my work schedule, I'm either hanging with Kendall all morning  and then both kids the rest of the day, hanging as a family and running errands or going to work.  Kendall goes to our neighbor's house for daycare if we both work. 
  • Dinner
  • Teach dance class.  My class is fun.  A nice break from the week, a chance to get out and do what I love, dance.  Tuesday nights are fun.  ;)

No comments:

Post a Comment

I'd love to hear your thoughts!